

COUNCILMEMBERS Rud Browne Barry Buchanan Tyler Byrd Todd Donovan Ben Elenbaas Carol Frazey Kathy Kershner

WHATCOM COUNTY BOARDS AND COMMISSION VACANCIES Through January 31, 2021

APPLICANT LIST

NOXIOUS WEED CONTROL BOARD

2 Vacancies, current members eligible to reapply, 4-year terms. Members must reside in Noxious Weed district 1 or 4, be engaged in agricultural production, and have ten signatures from registered voters in that district.

- District No. 1 North Boundary is the U.S./Canada Border; South Boundary follows along Birch-Bay Lynden, Polinder, Timon, Lindsay and Sorenson Rds.; East and West Boundaries are the same for Whatcom County.
- District No. 4 North Boundary follows Slater and Bakerview Rds.; South Boundary follows Galbraith Rd. east to west through Hale Passage excluding Lummi Island; East and West Boundaries are the same as for Whatcom County.

Four board members shall be involved in the primary production of agriculture products. However, this does not require that agriculture be a primary source of income for these members. The Board promotes education concerning management of listed noxious weeds such as tansy ragwort, knapweed, purple loosestrife, knotweed and their impacts on natural resources. Members generally meet every other month.

At the Noxious Weed Control Board meeting on December 15, 2020, the Board voted to recommend the following applicant(s), per RCW 17.10.050(2)

Noxious Weed District 1 Applicant:

• Dale Yoder, incumbent

Noxious Weed District 7 Applicant:

• Alexander Vondrell, incumbent

Boards, commission, and committee (BCAC) members have to meet the following qualifications:

1. US Citizen (Charter 4.20)

2. Resident and registered voter in Whatcom County (Charter 4.20)

3. Resident of the district, agency, or group the person is appointed to represent on a specific board, committee or commission (WCC 2.03.100)

4. If required, the specific qualifications per the enabling ordinance, resolution, or RCW (see enabling statute of the specific BCAC.)