CLERK OF THE COUNCIL Dana Brown-Davis, C.M.C.

COUNTY COURTHOUSE 311 Grand Avenue, Suite #105 Bellingham, WA 98225-4038 360-778-5010



COUNCILMEMBERS
Barry Buchanan
Rud Browne
Tyler Byrd
Todd Donovan
Ben Elenbaas
Carol Frazey
Kathy Kershner

WHATCOM COUNTY COUNCIL

APPLICANT LIST

This list represents all vacancies through January 31, 2022. All appointees must live in and be registered to vote in Whatcom County and, if applicable, meet the residency, employment, and/or affiliation requirements of the position. Vacancies are often filled by reappointment of current members to a second term. Appointments are without compensation unless otherwise noted. Applications can be completed online, and are available in the Council Office, the Executive's Office, and on the County website at: www.co.whatcom.wa.us/1584/How-to-Apply.

FLOOD CONTROL ZONE DISTRICT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

WCC 100.02.030 Membership Definitions:

The advisory committee will consist of 15 voting members and one ex officio nonvoting member, each of whom resides in Whatcom County, to be appointed by the board of supervisors, as follows:

- A. Two members representing special districts, such as drainage and diking districts or flood control district subzones;
- B. Two members representing cities impacted by flooding;
- C. Two members, one member representing each of the two federally recognized Indian Tribes, after consideration of the recommendation of the Nooksack Tribe and Lummi Nation governing bodies;
- D. Nine members who collectively represent a diversity of flood control zone district stakeholder interests and geographic areas throughout the county, whenever possible;
- E. One nonvoting ex officio member to be selected by the board of supervisors from its own members.

Committee assists and makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors in performing flood damage repairs, maintenance and improvements, and minimizing future flood damage through prevention and management on the Nooksack River, its watershed, and the other watersheds within Whatcom County. Meets the second Thursday of the month or as needed. Flood Control Zone District Board of Supervisors-appointed

Geographic Area (3 Vacancies)

- Candice Leonard
- Thomas Brewster, incumbent

Impacted Cities (2 Vacancies)

- John Perry, incumbent
- Marcus Brooks
- Bruce Bosch

Special Districts (2 Vacancies):

- Ron Bronsema, incumbent
- Jeff De Jong, incumbent

Alternate (unlimited vacancies):

- Joni Hensley
- Keith Hoekema