Whatcom County Council (Special)

COUNTY COURTHOUSE 311 Grand Avenue, Ste #105 Bellingham, WA 98225-4038 (360) 778-5010



Action Summary

VIRTUAL MEETING - MAY BEGIN EARLIER THAN 3:40 P.M., ENDS NO LATER THAN 5 P.M.

Tuesday, January 12, 2021 3:40 PM Virtual Meeting

COUNCILMEMBERS

Rud Browne Barry Buchanan Tyler Byrd Todd Donovan Ben Elenbaas Carol Frazey Kathy Kershner

CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Dana Brown-Davis, C.M.C.

Call To Order

Roll Call

Present: 7 - Rud Browne, Barry Buchanan, Tyler Byrd, Todd Donovan, Carol Frazey, Ben Elenbaas and Kathy Kershner

Absent: None

Special Order of Business

1. <u>AB2021-028</u> Reorganization of the Whatcom Council for 2021

NOMINATED AND APPOINTED

See assignments attached

Items Added by Revision

Other Business

Adjournment

2021 WHATCOM COUNTY COUNCIL (COMMITTEE AND BOARD ASSIGNMENTS	
Committee Chairs TBD		

As of Jan 12, 2021

Committee C							
County Council Committee Assignments	Rud Browne	Barry Buchanan	Tyler Byrd	Todd Donovan	Ben Elenbaas	Carol Frazey	Kathy Kershner
Council Chairperson (Acts as Chair of Council acting in other						<i>_</i>	
capacities, Rep to EDI Board, Law Library Board, County		\checkmark					
Finance Committee) Council Vice-Chairperson		•					
Executive Pro-Tempore (<i>Can not be on COG</i>)	\checkmark						
Standing Committees							
Criminal Justice and Public Safety		\checkmark	\checkmark			\checkmark	
Finance & Administrative Services - Chair of Finance Committee will automatically act as Council Rep. to What-Comm							
Administrative Board	\checkmark		\checkmark			\checkmark	
Planning & Development	v √		v	\checkmark	\checkmark	, v	
	-			-	V		
Public Works and Health Natural Resources	\checkmark	1		\checkmark	/	\checkmark	
Select 2 Natural Res. Committee members as Representatives		√		\checkmark	\checkmark		
to Lake Whatcom Policy Group				\checkmark	\checkmark		
Other Committee Assignments				•			
Behavioral Health Advisory Committee				\checkmark			
Bellingham International Airport Advisory					\checkmark		
Bellingham Regional Chamber of Commerce					v		
			V				
Business and Commerce Advisory Committee (non-voting)	\checkmark						
Child and Family Well-Being Task Force						\checkmark	
Council of Governments (COG) Appoint TWO members to serve on the Full Council (can not be Exec Pro-Tem)						\checkmark	
Council of Governments (COG) <i>Appoint ONE of the above two</i>			v			v	
members to also serve on the Exec Board and Transportation							
Policy Board (cannot be Exec Pro-Tem)						\checkmark	
Developmental Disabilities Board							\checkmark
Drayton Harbor & Portage Bay Shellfish Protection Districts					\checkmark		
EMS Oversight Board <i>Representative</i>			\checkmark				
EMS Oversight Board Alternate Representative							\checkmark
Flood Control Zone Committee (Ex Officio)					\checkmark		
Homelss Strategies Workgroup (Appoint TWO)		\checkmark					
Incarceration Prevention and Reduction Task Force (And Appoint one	-						
alternate)		\checkmark	ALT				
Intergovernmental Tribal Relations Committee (Appt. TWO)						\checkmark	
LEOFF Board		\checkmark					
Reserve Officers Board of Trustees - (Appoint TWO)			\checkmark			\checkmark	
Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)			\checkmark				
Lummi Island Ferry Advisory Committee - Appoint ONE non-voting				,			
attendee OPTIONAL: Lummi Island Ferry Advisory Committee Alt Appoint				\checkmark			
TWO alternates if Council wishes					\checkmark		
Marine Resources Committee					\checkmark		
North Sound Behavioral Health Exec. Committee	\checkmark						
Northwest Clean Air Agency				\checkmark		<u> </u>	
Northwest Regional Council (NWRC)				· ·		<u> </u>	\checkmark
Opportunity Council	\checkmark						•
Public Defense Advisory	v						
Public Health Advisory Board		\checkmark					v
Solid Waste Advisory		v				√	
WSAC Alternate Board Member (The Executive is the active						v v	
representative, Councilmember is alternate)	\checkmark						
WSAC Optional Alternate Board Member (Res2019-008)						1	
WSAC Legislative Steering Committee	\checkmark						
WSAC Timber Counties Caucus						\checkmark	
WSAC Coastal Counties Caucus				\checkmark			
Whatcom Transportation Authority				\checkmark			
		-				-	

WHATCOM COUNTY COUNCIL MEMBERS

2021

Rud Browne District 1 Term expires January 2022	(360) 820-9494 <u>RBrowne@co.whatcom.wa.us</u>
Todd Donovan District 2 Term expires January 2022	(360) 483-8474 TDonovan@co.whatcom.wa.us
Tyler Byrd District 3 Term expires January 2022	(360) 778-5021 <u>TByrd@whatcomcounty.us</u>
Kathy Kershner District 4 Term expires January 2024	(360) 220-7535 <u>KKershne@co.whatcom.wa.us</u>
Ben Elenbaas District 5 Term expires January 2024	(425) 395-4833 <u>BElenbaa@co.whatcom.wa.us</u>
Barry Buchanan At-Large A Term expires January 2022	(360) 224-4330 <u>BBuchana@co.whatcom.wa.us</u>
Carol Frazey At-Large B	(360) 778-5024 <u>CFrazey@whatcomcounty.us</u>

At-Large B Term expires January 2024

<u>whatcomcounty.us</u>

MAIL TO ALL COUNCIL MEMBERS SHOULD BE SENT TO THE FOLLOWING ADDRESS:

WHATCOM COUNTY COUNCIL 311 GRAND AVENUE, SUITE 105 BELLINGHAM, WA 98225

(360) 778-5010 council@co.whatcom.wa.us