CLERK OF THE COUNCIL Cathy Halka, AICP, CMC

COUNTY COURTHOUSE

311 Grand Avenue, Suite #105 Bellingham, WA 98225-4038 (360) 778-5010



COUNCILMEMBERS
Barry Buchanan
Tyler Byrd
Todd Donovan
Ben Elenbaas
Kaylee Galloway
Jon Scanlon

Mark Stremler

WHATCOM COUNTY COUNCIL

BOARDS AND COMMISSION VACANCIES

Through January 31, 2025

This list represents all vacancies through January 31, 2025. All appointees must live in Whatcom County and, if applicable, meet the residency, employment, and/or affiliation requirements of the position. Vacancies are often filled by reappointment of current members to a second term.

All appointees must complete Open Public Meeting Act training within 90 days of appointment.

PLANNING COMMISSION

AB2025-060

3 Vacancies, two current members eligible to reapply, 4-year terms. Applicants must reside in County Council Districts 1, 2, or 3.

The Planning Commission shall assist the Planning & Development Services Department in carrying out its duties, including assistance in the preparation and execution the comprehensive plan and recommendations to the department for the adoption of official controls and/or amendments. The Commission shall conduct hearings as required under RCW 36.70, and shall make findings and conclusions that shall be transmitted to the Planning and Development Services Department and County Council. The Planning Commission meets on the second and fourth Thursday of every month in the evenings.

The council encourages representation from the following: 1. The development community, 2. The environmental community, 3. Business and industry, 4. Agricultural, forestry, mineral, or aquatic resource lands.

At least one, but no more than two members from one council district:

- 1. Council must appoint 1 person from District 1.
- 2. The remaining 2 vacancies may be appointed from Districts 1, 2, or 3

2025 Current Members	
Position #	Name/Address
District 2	Jim Hansen
District 3	William Dominic Moceri
District 4	Alvin Scott Van Dalen
District 4	Suneeta Eisenberg
District 5	Kelvin Barton
District 5	Julie Jefferson
	Vacant
	Vacant
	Vacant

Applicants: District 1

Frank James (incumbent)

• Rud Browne

Applicants: District 2

Dan Dunne

Christina Maginnis

Applicants: District 3

• Nicholas Greif