CLERK OF THE COUNCIL Cathy Halka, AICP, CMC

COUNTY COURTHOUSE

311 Grand Avenue, Suite #105 Bellingham, WA 98225-4038 (360) 778-5010



COUNCILMEMBERS
Barry Buchanan
Tyler Byrd
Todd Donovan
Ben Elenbaas
Kaylee Galloway
Jon Scanlon
Mark Stremler

WHATCOM COUNTY COUNCIL BOARDS AND COMMISSION VACANCIES

Through January 31, 2025

This list represents all vacancies through January 31, 2025. All appointees must live in Whatcom County and, if applicable, meet the residency, employment, and/or affiliation requirements of the position. Vacancies are often filled by reappointment of current members to a second term.

All appointees must complete Open Public Meeting Act training within 90 days of appointment.

CHILD AND FAMILY WELL-BEING TASK FORCE AB2025-052

8 Vacancies, 4-year terms. Current members are eligible to reapply.

Applicants must represent at least one of the following experiences: community members from under-represented communities (Hispanic/Latino, American Indian/Alaska Native, Black/African American, immigrant, rural); community action agency, non-profit housing organization or social service agency; faith community; private school, home school, higher education or child care provider; medical and behavioral health care provider serving young children and families; community members with experience caring for children such as parent, foster parent, grandparent, or guardian; private business, corporation, or philanthropic organization.

The Task Force will continually review Whatcom governmental impacts on children and families, and make specific recommendations for improvements for all departments. The Task Force will consider input from diverse families throughout Whatcom County and evidence-based and promising practices and report on and make recommendations to County Council, Executive, and other appropriate officials regarding implementation of recommendations in the Whatcom Working Toward Well-being: An Action Plan for County Government (Action Plan) as adopted on February 4, 2020.

Applicants (8 Vacancies)

- Allison Bishop, incumbent
- Ray Deck III, incumbent
- Jamie Desmul, incumbent
- Megan Juenemann, incumbent
- Lyn Salazar, incumbent
- Vesla Tonnessen, incumbent
- Jennifer Wright, incumbent
- Susan Marks
- Lynn Schreiber
- Nina Ballew