#### CLERK OF THE COUNCIL Cathy Halka, AICP, CMC

**COUNTY COURTHOUSE**311 Grand Avenue, Suite #105
Bellingham, WA 98225-4038
(360) 778-5010



COUNCILMEMBERS
Barry Buchanan
Tyler Byrd
Todd Donovan
Ben Elenbaas
Kaylee Galloway
Jon Scanlon
Mark Stremler

# WHATCOM COUNTY COUNCIL BOARDS AND COMMISSION VACANCIES

#### Through January 31, 2025

This list represents all vacancies through January 31, 2025. All appointees must live in Whatcom County and, if applicable, meet the residency, employment, and/or affiliation requirements of the position. Vacancies are often filled by reappointment of current members to a second term. All appointees must complete Open Public Meeting Act training within 90 days of appointment.

#### **BOARD OF EQUALIZATION**

#### AB2025-051

The Board ensures that all properties are valued at 100% of market value. The Board may equalize property values by either lowering or raising land/building assessments. The Board generally meets on Wednesdays and Thursdays, with occasional Tuesday meetings as the caseload requires. Members receive \$150 per diem for attending hearings

If Council adopts the Ordinance amending Whatcom County Code Chapter 2.21 Board of Equalization to Clarify Board of Equalization Membership as proposed, at the January 14, 2025 Council meeting, then:

5 vacancies as shown below:

### Current regular members:

- W. Thomas Follis, Council District 2
- Sonia Merk, Council District 4
- 1 Vacancy, 3-year term

#### <u>Alternates:</u>

4 Vacancies, 3-year terms

#### Applicants:

- John Young, District 1 (At-Large incumbent)
- James Day, District 5 incumbent
- Todd Lagestee, District 1
- Grant Nulle, District 5
- Shenandoah Myrick, District 4
- Wes Van De Mark, District 1 incumbent. Mr. Van De Mark has completed 2 full terms, and is not eligible for reappointment until March 1, 2025, per WCC 2.21.020.

\_\_\_\_\_

If Council **does not adopt** the Ordinance amending Whatcom County Code Chapter 2.21 Board of Equalization to Clarify Board of Equalization Membership as proposed, or maintains the five district/2 alternate structure for the Board:

5 Vacancies as shown below

## Applicants: County Council District 1 (1 Vacancy)

- John Young (At-Large incumbent)
- Todd Lagestee
- Wes Van De Mark, District 1 incumbent. Mr. Van De Mark has completed 2 full terms, and is not eligible for reappointment until March 1, 2025, per WCC 2.21.020

## Applicants: County Council District 3 (1 Vacancy)

(none)

# Applicants: County Council District 5 (1 Vacancy)

- James Day (incumbent)
- Grant Nulle

## Applicants: At-Large Alternates (2 Vacancies)

- All the above applicants, plus
- Shenandoah Myrick (Council Dist. 4)